The Texas Labor Code states that “the purpose of the Texas Child Labor Law is to ensure that a child is not employed in an occupation or manner that is detrimental to the child's safety, health, or well-being.”
The code defines a “Child” as any individual under 18 years of age. However, except as specifically authorized by the statute, it is illegal to employ a child under 14 years of age.
The Texas State Law also states that a child of 14 or 15 years of age may not work more than eight hours per day or more than 48 hours each week. If a child of 14 or 15 is enrolled in a public or private school, he may not work between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. If a child of 14 or 15 is not enrolled in summer school, he may not work between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. on any day that school is in recess for the summer.