Thursday, October 15, 2009

DOL certifies approximately 4,700 workers in 13 states as eligible to apply for Trade Adjustment Assistance

On Sep 17, 2009, the U.S. Department of Labor announced that approximately 4,700 workers from companies in 13 states — Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee and Wisconsin — are eligible to apply for Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA), which is a federal program that retrains and financially assists workers whose jobs are displaced by foreign competition.
"Foreign competition continues to impact America's workers regardless of industry or occupation," said Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis. "These trade-affected workers deserve the support of Trade Adjustment Assistance as they upgrade current skills or seek out new careers in promising regional industries."
The agency said that workers covered by these latest TAA certifications will be contacted by their respective states and receive instructions on how to apply for individual benefits and services. Those who apply may receive job placement services, case management and re-employment services, training in new occupational skills and trade readjustment allowances that provide income support for workers enrolled in training. Some workers may also receive job search and relocation allowances, and the Health Coverage Tax Credit (HCTC).
According to the federal DOL, workers aged 50 and older may elect to receive Reemployment Trade Adjustment Assistance (RTAA). If the worker obtains new employment at wages less than $55,000 and less than those earned in adversely affected employment, the RTAA program pay will pay 50 percent of the difference between the old wage and the new wage — up to $12,000 — over a two-year period. RTAA participants may also be eligible for retraining.

No comments: