In the report of the State of New Jersey Minimum Wage Advisory Commission, there is new policy about the minimum wage of New Jersey. In the report, the commission clearly states that the minimum wage of New Jersey has increased from $7.15 per hour to $8.50 per hour in 2009. The new policy had been taken effect on January 1, 2009.
The Commission also recommend that the minimum wage should be increased automatically from year to year based on the increase in the consumer price index. What’s more, the Commission also recommends that a minimum cash wage requirement for tipped workers should be set up.
It should be noted that the Commission had made recommendations in the Commission’s First Annual Report in 2007 for a minimum wage increase from $7.15 per hour to $8.25 per hour. However, its recommendations never were signed into law.